You must be at least 16 years old before beginning a driver education program, however you do not need to obtain your learner's permit to attend classroom instructions. The learners permit will be needed before on the road lessons can begin. (Although I love em, dogs need not apply)
For information on obtaining a learners permit, please refer to the CT DMV website.
Driver License Eligibility Date
If you attend a CT licensed commercial or secondary school: Enroll and attend the entire 30 hour classroom package portion of driver training.
Learner permit holders are then eligible to apply for a driver license after they have held the permit for 120 days.
Two-Hour Parent Training
Connecticut law requires that one parent or legal guardian be available and take a 2 hour parent training at a commercial driving school before a teen is eligible for a driver license. If your parent or legal guardian is unable to attend the 2 hour parent training, you will not be eligible for a Connecticut driver license until you reach age 18.
Commercial Driving School Training:
*May qualify you for a significant discount on insurance rates, if you complete the full 30 hours of classroom training program at our driving school, which includes the 8 hr Safe Driving Practices course and the 2 hours of parent training for 16 and 17 year old students. Also included are 8 hours of behind the wheel lessons, for a total program cost of $525. A combined total of 40 hours of behind the wheel driving is required by the state.
Home Training: Per CT DMV
22 hours of classroom training, plus: The state requires 8-hour Safe Driving Practices course at a commercial or secondary school which includes 2 hour parent/legal guardian training for 16 and 17 year old's.
*40 hour practice driving (behind-the-wheel) may be given by any combination of commercial/secondary/parent instruction. The driving practice must be given by a Qualified Trainer.
No curfew for permit holders, but must be accompanied by a qualified trainer.
Parent/legal guardian must attend 2-hour parent training with 16-17 year old permit holder before the teen can be tested for a license. If you are home trained:
You must have a learner permit for at least 180 days before you are eligible to take the test for your driver license as well as a Driver Education Certificate (form CS-1)
Passengers: Only a parent, legal guardian or qualified trainer or the duration of the permit. Parents or guardian may accompany the instructor.
Until the 18th birthday, a teen may not use cell phones (even if hands-free) or other mobile electronic devices while driving. This includes any hand-held computers or other device with a video display.
A driver education certificate (form CS-1) will be issued by a CT licensed driving school after completion of the training course. The certificate will certify the completion of 30 hours of classroom and 8 hours behind-the- wheel driving; or 8 hours only of Safe Driving Practices course. (2 hrs of parent training is included in the courses for 16 &17-year-old students.) All applicants must present the CS-1 certificate at the time of testing.
Enroll now to reserve a spot!
We are looking forward to serving your family!
The Driving Whisperer driving school
During the first six months the newly licensed driver may not have any passengers in the vehicle except for:
For the second six months, may drive with the above people or may also drive with immediate family (e.g., brothers, and sisters). *See exemptions below
Until 18th birthday, may not drive between hours of 11PM – 5AM unless it is for:
*See exemptions below
All passengers in vehicle must use permanently installed seat belts.
Cell Phones, GPS, etc until 18th birthday, may not use cell phones (even if hands-free) or other mobile electronic devices while driving. This includes any hand-held computers or other device with a video display.
*Passenger/Curfew Exemptions:The passenger and curfew restrictions do not apply to:
Please contact the CT. DMV or view their website for the latest information.